MFA Report #3 – Week 8

This week will mark the week period of the program. I am still alive, although as you can see, my blog posts have suffered. I have been reading and writing almost non stop.

Workshop

I’ve handed in my first piece for the workshop. It was mostly well received. I got the critiques back and now it is time to revise. But I cannot do that just yet, because my second piece is due in 17 days. This one is a biggy as it is the start of my thesis. A lot of pressure here.

At the end of the 2 years, I need to have a thesis. That is 75 pages of a novel or other book (short stories etc.) I felt it was best to get that started. It is killing me though. Whoever said writing was easy, never wrote anything!

Lit Class (as in Literature, not as in Lit, although the class is Lit)1horse

All the books are rolling into one another. The books I’ve read in the last 8 weeks (for school, not for my own pleasure) are: Mrs. Dalloway, Family Life, Between the World and Me, A Visit from the Goon Squad, This is How you Lose Her, The Road, and I am currently reading The Last Report on the Miracles of Little No Horse.

Two more books to go after this. Not to mention two more 5-page essays to write, no seat…right.

Master Class

We started the 2nd round of our Master Classes. Our current teacher is Bushra Rehman, author of Corona. The class is entitled: Prose & Poetic Logic. I’ve only had two classes so far and already I find it invaluable. Not only am I introduced to various authors I’ve never heard of (and so1bushrame I have), but we are given 25 minutes to write on an open prompt.

I find that writing this way is freeing. A lot of ideas surface.

This class ends one week before Thanksgiving, which is good because by then I think I will be almost dead from exhaustion.

 

I like my classmates, and I like the fact that we all write very different things. Some of the genre’s that are floating around are: Horror, Historical Fiction, Dystopian, Young Adult, Lyrical Prose and the list goes on. No one has written a bad or boring story. I’m excited to be with these people for the next two years.

The Professors are starting to look at next years students. They will be the second class, but I will always have to honor of being in the inaugural class, and the first class to graduate from The College of New Rochelle with an MFA in Creative Writing.

 

About Liz Kelso

www.lizkelso.com
This entry was posted in MFA, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

