Writing While Mad

 

Writing While Depressed

I don’t know about you, but when I am depressed I cannot write.

Let me clarify, I cannot write anything that isn’t a cry for help. It is a cry for help that no one will read.

Even if I can start writing something worth reading, my own emotions get tangled up in what I am trying to say and it turns to a bunch of whiney words.

 

Sometimes This Can Be a Time of Incubation

Last year I was downright suicidal. I wrote in my notebook as much as I could, but it was a stream of sadness.novel sign

A few months later when the depression lifted, I wrote a story that was one of the best things that I ever wrote. At this time, my writing was fueled by anger and revenge. You know that saying, “Careful or you’ll end up in my novel”? It is true. If you make me cry today, I’ll make you cry tomorrow…and mine will be in ink.

I try to be the bigger person, but sometimes, I’m petty. That’s the beauty of writing; you can camouflage your pettiness, your bitterness and your anger in literature.

 

Writing While Mad

Let’s get one thing straight. I do not believe I suffer from The “Sylvia Plath” effect – much. I mean, I’m not mad. Am I?

Mad in the way the Brits use it. You know…Mental.

OK, maybe I am a little mad. I’m a writer after all. But I promise to keep it coherent and not the meanderings of a raving lunatic.

 

Disclaimer

It’s OK to be sad sometimes. Sometimes life throws at us more than we can handle. If you believe you suffer from depression please get help. See a trained professional. If you are having suicidal thoughts please call your local suicide hotline.

Suicide Prevention International: 212-427-1500

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (USA): 800-273-8255

 

About Liz Kelso

www.lizkelso.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

